Header Ads

The mixed avengers

This will be the duo’s first semi-final appearance since being paired up in June.
World No. 64 Peng Soon-Yee See will take on world No. 13 Wang Yilyu-Huang Dongping of China for a place in the final.
Leading 16-11 in the decider, they suffered a lapse of concentration and that allowed their opponents to sneak up to level the tie at 18-18.
Luckily, they managed to pull away with a victory.
Peng Soon was glad that they did not repeat the mistake that they did at last month’s Kuala Lumpur SEA Games where they failed to finish off their opponents.
Despite taking the lead, they allowed their Thais opponents and eventual champions Decha­pol Puava­ranukroh-Sapsiree Taerattanachai to beat them in the semi-finals.
“The SEA Games taught us a good lesson and gave us a good experience. Then, we didn’t finish well. This time, we didn’t make the same mistake,” said Peng Soon.
“We knew what went wrong in our defeat to the Koreans at the Taiwan Open (in June) and we came better prepared this time. Yee See and I combined well.
“It’ll be tougher tomorrow against the experienced Chinese pair.”
Malaysia’s second-ranked pair of Goh Soon Huat-Shevon Lai Jemie failed to make it a double joy for Malaysia after going down fighting 21-18, 13-21, 18-21 to Germany’s Marvin Emil Seidel-Linda Efler in the last eight.


Men’s singles: Son wan-ho (Kor) bt Sameer Verma (Ind) 20-22, 21-10, 21-13; Jonatan Christie (Ina) bt Kazumasa Sakai (Jpn) 21-13, 16-21, 21-19; Anthony Ginting (Ina) bt Kenta Nishimoto (Jpn) 21-19, 21-13; Wang Tzu-wei (Tpe) bt Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (Den) 21-11, 19-21, 21-14.

Men’s doubles: Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Ina) bt Liu Cheng-Zhang Nan (Chn) 21-16, 28-26; Takuro Hoki-Yugo Kobayashi (Jpn) bt Liao Min-chun-Su Chengheng (Tpe) 21-18, 19-21, 21-13; Takeshi Kamura-Keigo Sonoda (Jpn) bt Satwiksairaj Rankireddy-Chirag Shetty (Ind) 21-14, 17-21, 21-15; Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen (Den) bt Mads Conrad-Petersen-Mads Pieler Kolding (Den) 21-19, 22-20.

Women’s singles: Akane Yamaguchi (Jpn) bt Ratchanok Intanon (Tha) 21-12, 21-16; P.V. Sindhu (Ind) bt Minatsu Mitani (Jpn) 21-19, 16-21, 21-10; He Bignjiao (Chn) bt Sung Ji-hyun (Kor) 21-19, 16-21, 21-19; Nozomi Okuhara (Jpn) bt Yip Pui Yin (Hkg) 21-15, 21-10.

Women’s doubles: Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi (Jpn) bt Greysia Polii-Apriyani Rahayu (Ina) 21-15, 21-13; Kamilla Rytter Juhl-Christinna Pedersen (Den) bt Du Yue-Xu Ya (Chn) 21-11, 21-12; Huang Yaqiong-Yu Xiaohan (Chn) bt Mayu Matsutomo-Wakana Nagahara (Jpn) 21-17, 22-24, 21-15; Chang Ye-na-Lee So-hee (Kor) bt Kim Hye-rin-Yoo Hae-won (Kor) 15-21, 21-19, 21-15.

Mixed doubles: Chan Peng Soon-Cheah Yee See (Mas) bt Seo Seung-jae-Kim ha-na (Kor) 13-21, 21-10, 21-18; Wang Yilyu-Huang Dongping (Chn) bt Yuki Kaneko-Koharu Yonemoto (Jpn) 17-21, 27-25, 21-19; Marvin Emil Seidel-Linda Efler (Ger) bt Goh Soon Huat-Shevon Lai Jemie (Mas) 18-21, 21-13, 21-18; Praveen Jordan-Debby Susanto (Ina) bt Takuro Hoki-Sayaka Hirota (Jpn) 21-17, 21-17.
MAIN SPONSOR : Online Casino Malaysia88GASIA

No comments