Header Ads

Perak, JDT, Selangor join three others in Malaysia Cup q-finals

SIX teams have advanced to the quarter-finals of the Malaysia Cup following Tuesday's proceedings.
Perak, who qualified for the last eight after the fourth round of matches last week, defeated Kuala Lumpur 2-0 courtesy of goals by Brazilian Gilmar Filho (22nd minute) and D. Kenny Pallraj (37th) in Ipoh in a Group B match.
They lead Group B with 13 points, two more than second-place Felda United, who bounced back twice to edge PKNS 3-2 in Jengka.
Nigerian Ifedayo Olusegun scored a brace in the 46th and 75th minutes with captain Shukor Adan adding the other goal in the 74th minute for Felda to join Perak in the quarter-finals.
PKNS scored through Bobby Gonzales in the 31st minute and Nazrin Syamsul Bahri in the 61st minute.
In Group D, Darul Ta'zim joined Selangor in the quarter-finals by thrashing Terengganu 5-0 at Larkin Stadium.
Safawi Rasid (18th), Fadhli Shas (38th), S. Kunanlan (45th), Ahmad Hazwan Bakri (49th) and Darren Lok (80th) netted for Darul Ta'zim.
Selangor will entertain Sarawak at Selayang Stadium tomorrow.
In Group A, Pahang reignited their hopes of qualifying for the quarter-finals when they hammered Perak SEDC 6-0 with goals by Zaharulnizam Zakaria (28th and 52nd) Joseph Kalang Tie (33rd and 42nd), Afif Amiruddin (82nd) and Matheus Alves (86th) in Kuantan to move to second in the pool.
Perak SEDC fielded a mixed team as they have already qualified for the last eight.
In another match, T-Team defeated Negri Sembilan 4-1 in Kuala Terengganu courtesy of goals by Asrol Ibrahim (25th), Wan Ahmad Amirzafran Wan Nadris (41st), Dilshod Sharofetdinov (49th) and Fakhrurazi Musa (80th).
The second quarter-final spot in the group will be decided in the final round of matches next month.
Kedah booked their quarter-final spot when they edged University Technology Mara 1-0 in a Group C encounter in Alor Star. Liridon Krasniqi netted the winning goal in the 25th minute.

No comments